United Nations Office at Vienna (UNOV)

UN Plaza Vienna

Vienna is one of the four Headquarters of the United Nations (UN). The Vienna International Centre (VIC) was opened in 1979.

The first of the international organizations to be based in Vienna was the IAEA, which was set up as an independent international organization related to the United Nations system in 1957. The IAEA is the world's central intergovernmental forum for scientific and technical cooperation in the peaceful use of nuclear technology. On the basis of the three main pillars Safety and Security, Safeguards and Verification and Science and Technology, the Agency works with multiple partners worldwide to promote safe, secure and peaceful nuclear technologies.

The Preparatory Commission for the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organisation (CTBTO), to which a sophisticated data centre is attached, has been operative in Vienna since 1997. Its main task is to carry out preparations for the implementation of the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty (CTBT), which bans all nuclear weapons test explosions.

Another Vienna-based organization is the United Nations Industrial Development Organisation (UNIDO), which was set up in 1966. UNIDO is the specialized agency of the United Nations mandated to promote global industrial cooperation and to support and accelerate sustainable industrial development in developing countries and economies in transition. Through the provision of technical cooperation services as well as through its analytical, normative and convening activities UNIDO aims at reducing poverty through productive activities, promoting the integration of developing countries in global trade through trade capacity building and fostering environmental sustainability in industry.

In 1997, in the course of various reforms of the United Nations, Vienna became a major centre of all UN efforts aimed at combating crime, drug abuse and terrorism. As a result, the Office for Drug Control and Crime Prevention (ODCCP), renamed the UN Office on Drugs and Crime (UNODC) in autumn 2002, was set up in Vienna. UNODC consists of two Commissions: the Commission on Narcotic Drugs (CND) and the Commission on Crime Prevention and Criminal Justice (CCPCJ).

The UN Office in Vienna (UNOV) Secretariat unit gives administrative support and is responsible for conference planning and interpretation services as well as for the security services at the VIC. UNOV also includes the Office for Outer Space Affairs (OOSA) and the United Nations Information Service (UNIS).

Apart from the above-mentioned organisations of the UN family, Vienna also houses the Secretariat of the United Nations Commission on International Trade (UNCITRAL) the United Nations Scientific Committee on the Effects of Atomic Radiation (UNSCEAR), a regional bureau of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR), the Vienna office of the United Nations Office for Disarmament Affairs (UNODA), the United Nations Register of Damage Caused by the Construction of the Wall in the Occupied Palestinian Territory (UNRoD), an office of the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) and the Secretariat of the International Commission for the Protection of the Danube River.