United Nations New York

Since 1946, New York seats the main headquarters of the United Nations Organization. It is the home of

  • the United Nations Secretariat,
  • the General Assembly,
  • the Security Council,
  • the Economic and Social Council,

and several other organizations as well as a number of specialized agencies of the UN family.

The UN currently counts 193 Member States. The United Nations' main tasks are, amongst many others, international peacekeeping, conflict prevention and resolution, economic and social development, and humanitarian action.