Vienna, 10 June 2014 Press release

Call for submissions to "Journalism Award for Integration 2014"

The "Journalism Award for Integration", endowed with 10,500 euros, is awarded for the third time - Deadline for submissions: 17 July 2014

Vienna, 10 June 2014 – After the great success of the "Journalism Award for Integration" in the years 2012 and 2013, the independent Experts Council, the Federal Ministry for Europe, Integration and Foreign Affairs and the Austrian Integration Fund have opened the third "Journalism Award for Integration" competition for journalists in Austria.

The total prize money for the "Journalism Award for Integration" is 10,500 euros (three awards à 3,500 euros each), which makes it one of the best endowed prizes in the Austrian media scene. The prize is awarded to journalists who have made a special contribution to rendering the integration debate more objective and helped make integration a success with their creativity, new ideas and commitment.

The prize is open to journalists working in daily and or weekly print media, TV or radio and/or the Internet, but with the exception of journalists working in media that are addressed to a specific ethnic or religious group. The prize serves to sensitise journalists in the mass media who do not focus primarily on migrants or the topic of integration. The target group includes mainly those media that have a broad effect and respective impact on the receiving society and for which a balanced coverage of integration plays an important role.

The quality of the contributions submitted will be appraised by an independent jury consisting of:
President of the jury Dr. Hans Winkler (member of the Expert Council for Integration and former director of the Viennese editorial office of Kleine Zeitung daily),
Arabella Kiesbauer (Integration Ambassador and TV presenter),
Dr. Doris Appel (Director of the "Religion(s) in Radio" department of the Austrian Broadcasting Agency),
Claus Reitan (journalist),
Mag. Gerald Grünberger (Managing Director of the Austrian Newspapers Association),
Mag. (FH) Franz Wolf-Maier (Managing Director of the Austrian Integration Fund),
Mag. Zarko Radulovic (editor-in-chief of the "Neue ÖsterreicherInnen" media service centre),
Mag. Murat Düzel (head of the integration service of the Landesakademie Lower Austria),
Dr. Simon Kravagna (editor-in-chief of the "das biber" journal).

Nominations/applications can be made on-line by July 2014:

Contributions published in Austria between 20 July 2013 and 17 July 2014 can be submitted in the categories print/online, TV and radio. Three contributions maximum can be submitted per nomination/application.
The award ceremony with Federal Minister for Integration and Foreign Affairs, Sebastian Kurz, will be held on 17 September 2014, 5.00 – 6.30 pm at Presseclub Concordia.

Press Department
Tel.: +43 (0) 50 1150-3320
Fax: +43 (0) 50 1159-213