Vienna, 1 February 2013 Press release

Lopatka: “Austria will issue Schengen visas for Liechtenstein in five countries”

Austrian State Secretary signs agreement on consular cooperation

Vienna, 1 February 2013 – “We are taking a decisive step forwards in developing our cooperation in the consular and visa area with the signing of the agreement on the Schengen representation for Liechtenstein in five countries. Our embassies in Zagreb, Sofia, Tirana, Dublin and Kuala Lumpur will also deal with visa applications for Liechtenstein in future. I consider it to be a sign of special trust that Austria has been able to take on this task for Liechtenstein as the first partner country after Switzerland”, State Secretary Reinhold Lopatka said on the signing of the Schengen representation agreement with senior Liechtenstein government official Hugo Quaderer.

Austria has been working together closely with its neighbour in migration and asylum questions since Liechtenstein became a signatory to the Schengen Agreement in 2011. “The consular and visa area is a growth sector. Increasing travel activity is compelling us to seek new forms of cooperation in the consular area. The representation in the issuing of visas by a Schengen partner has proved to be a successful model, from which Austria has also benefited in countries where we are not represented by an embassy. It is both sensible and natural when neighbours provide each other with mutual support in this matter”, Lopatka said.

Austria, Liechtenstein, Switzerland and Slovenia have regular and intensive exchanges in consular issues. This close cooperation can also bring substantial advantages in dealing with guests within the scope of major sporting events such as those for the Winter Olympic Games 2014 in Sochi.

Federal Ministry for
European and International Affairs
Press Department
Tel.: ++43 (0) 50 1150-3320
Fax: ++43 (0) 50 1159-213
e-mail: abti3(at)