Residency in Austria

Residents of Hong Kong SAR or Macau SAR who intend to travel to Austria for more than six months require a residency title. Residency titles are always granted for a specific purpose (e.g. employment, study, research) with or without access to the labour market. The Austrian Consulate General will only deal with applications from persons with residence permits for Hong Kong SAR or Macau SAR. Persons who do not hold a Hong Kong / Macau residence permit or a Hong Kong / Macao ID card can not apply for a residency title at the Austrian Consulate General in Hong Kong. They should directly contact the Austrian Consulate / Embassy responsible for their country of residence.

All documents mentioned (except the application form) have to be submitted in original and photocopy. Please submit your application "IN PERSON" at least 3 months prior to your planned departure. All foreign language documents must be presented in original along with a legalized German / English translation.


  1. application form must be duly completed, signed and submitted in person
  2. two passport-photos according to ICAO-criteria (color, 35x45 mm, not older than 6 months)
  3. valid passport (at least 2 empty pages, validity is at least three months longer than the requested visa)
  4. Hong Kong / Macau Permanent ID-Card (or residence permit in Hong Kong / Macau if you are non-permanent ID-Card holder)
  5. acceptance of biometric data (10 fingerprints) from persons with age or older than 12 years
  6. birth certificate:
    1. if you have a birth certificate from the HKSAR, an apostille from the Apostille Office at HKSAR High Court is required
    2. if you have a birth certificate from the Macau SAR, please refer to the homepage of Legal Affairs Bureau in Macau for translation and required legalization
    3. if you have a birth certificate issued outside of Hong Kong / Macau SAR (e.g. the People's Republic of China) full diplomatic legalization of the certificate along with a legalized German / English translation is necessary
  7. Certificate of No Criminal Conviction (an introduction letter for the Hong Kong Police in order to obtain this certificate will be provided by the Consulate General; an apostille from the Apostille Office at HKSAR High Court or a legalization has to be attached to the original document)
  8. proof of sufficient financial means
    1. recent bank statement or bank book from last 3 months or
    2. scholarship
    3. letter of grants
    4. other proof of income
  9. statement of financial liability "Haftungserklärung" (if any)
  10. proof of proper accommodation (e.g. rental contract, ownership papers)
  11. travel / medical insurance (if there is no statutory compulsory insurance, please provide a corresponding insurance policy)
  12. consular fees of € 80 (payable cash in HKD and upon application - due to monthly exchange rate)
  13. further fees in Austria might apply upon pick-up of your residence permit inside of Austria
  14. further documents may be requested depending on the individual case / type of residence title (e.g. Residence Permit for Students)
  15. in the case of the residence title is approved, a Visa D must be applied prior to departure in order to be able to pick up the residence title in Austria


Please note that the Austrian Consulate General does not have access to the database of the Austrian authorities, therefore cannot give any information about the status of your application and request you or university in Austria to get in touch with the concerned authority directly. 

The residence title has to be collected in Austria. A valid Austrian residence title entitles you to transit through or travel to other Schengen States as well, but only up to an accumulated maximum of 90 days within 6 months.

Schengen States are the European Union (EU) members Belgium, Denmark, Germany, Estonia, Finland, France, Italy, Greece, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Austria, Poland, Portugal, Sweden, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Czech Republic, Hungary as well as non-EU members Switzerland, Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein.