Integration in Austria

Integration is a comprehensive, long-term process: The goal is to render possible “integration based on merit”, i.e. a system where people are not judged on their origin, language, religion or culture, but solely by what they are prepared to contribute to Austria. To achieve this, it is essential to promote, demand and acknowledge merit so that all citizens are able to play a full part in Austrian society.

Since the establishment of the State Secretariat for Integration in 2011, important steps in this direction have been taken in a joint effort with our numerous, strong partners, for instance through the Expert Council or the Integration Advisory Body. The successful development is also reflected in the Reports on Integration that are published annually: the amendment of the Citizenship Act, simplified validation procedures for academic qualifications acquired outside Austria, the Red-White-Red booklet, measures to promote integration from the very start, Integration Ambassadors from Together:Austria, the promotion of German language-learning in early childhood, to name just a few.

The move of the integration department to the Federal Ministry for Integration, European and Foreign Affairs opens up yet another exciting chapter of integration work in Austria, highlighting the multi-faceted synergies that exist between integration work in Austria itself and the realm of international affairs. The goal must be to provide a wide spectrum of integration initiatives, starting right in the country of origin with measures to prepare migrants for their life in Austria in the best possible way, and continuing seamlessly all the way to their arrival in Austria and beyond, to ensure our peaceful, shared existence in a society at ease with its diversity. This is a challenge addressed to society as a whole, as integration affects all of us.

This website also contains information on the Austrian Integration Fund, the validation process for professional qualifications, citizenship, project funding, publications and events.

Integration in Österreich

Integration ist ein langfristiger und umfassender Prozess: Ziel ist es "Integration durch Leistung" möglich zu machen, das heißt, Menschen sollen nicht nach ihrer Herkunft, Sprache, Religion oder Kultur beurteilt werden, sondern danach, was sie in Österreich beitragen wollen. Dazu ist es wichtig, Leistung zu ermöglichen, einzufordern und anzuerkennen, um eine umfassende Teilhabe an der Gesellschaft allen Bürgerinnen und Bürgern sicherzustellen.

Seit Gründung des Staatssekretariats für Integration im Jahr 2011 konnten mit vielen starken Partnerinnen und Partner - beispielweise mit dem Expertenrat oder dem Integrationsbeirat - dahingehend bereits große Erfolge erreicht werden, wie die bisher jährlich erschienenen Integrationsberichte verdeutlichen: Novellierung des Staatsbürgerschaftsgesetzes, vereinfachte Anerkennung von im Ausland erworbenen akademischen Qualifikationen, Rot-Weiß-Rot-Fibel, Integration von Anfang an, Integrationsbotschafter von Zusammen: Österreich, sprachliche Frühförderung - um nur einige beispielhaft zu nennen.

Durch die Ansiedlung der Integrationssektion im Bundesministerium für Europa, Integration und Äußeres wird nun ein weiteres spannendes Kapitel in der österreichischen Integrationsarbeit aufgeschlagen, welches die vielfältigen Synergien zwischen Integrationsarbeit im Inland und auswärtigen Angelegenheiten aufzeigt. Ziel ist es einen breiten Integrationsbogen zu spannen, der bereits im Herkunftsland ansetzt und Zuwanderinnen und Zuwanderer bestmöglich auf ein Leben in Österreich vorbereitet. Im Inland soll dieser Prozess nahtlos weitergeführt werden, um somit ein friedliches Zusammenleben in Vielfalt sicherstellen zu können. Dies ist eine gesamtgesellschaftliche Aufgabe - denn Integration betrifft uns alle.

Auf dieser Website finden Sie auch noch weitere Informationen zum Österreichischen Integrationsfonds, zur Berufsanerkennung, zur Staatsbürgerschaft, zu Projektförderungen, sowie Publikationen und Veranstaltungen.